Thewame – It's Africa and the World

‘Absolutely ridiculous’: Kiwi’s DRS horror

Cricket: New Zealand batsman Daryl Mitchell was given out LBW, but despite hotspot showing a mark on the bat, the third umpire ruled him out LBW causing shock to the commentators and New Zealand batters.

Chaos ensued after the decision.Source:FOX SPORTS

New Zealand has been dragged into controversy their second T20 against India.

After losing two early wickets, Kiwi captain Kane Williamson and rookie Daryl Mitchell looked to build a partnership.

Mitchell went back to a ball and was struck on the pads.

The commentators immediately said they thought he had taken “a little edge” but backed the umpire.

Mitchell sent it straight upstairs at the behest of captain Kane Williamson.

Third Umpire Shaun Haig went through the process and on first look, he said “doesn’t appear to be bat involved” despite the crowd erupting at the first look as it appeared Mitchell had been saved.

A huge reaction from the leg side hot spot revealed a mark on the bat.

“There does appear to be a mark,” Haig agreed.

Then looking at Snicko is where it all fell apart with Haig feeling the spike came after the ball hit the pad.

How did they miss this hot spot?

How did they miss this hot spot?Source:Supplied

Someone in the commentary box wasn’t happy with his read letting out an audible groan.

From there, it was all straight forward as the ball would have hit middle halfway up and the third umpire confirmed the call.

It was a baffling call as everyone on the field had moved back to their positions after seeing the replay.

View the footage in the video player above.

“Goodness me, that is absolutely ridiculous,” commentator Simon Doull said. “Callum Mitchell has only gone to Kane Williamson because he wasn’t sure of the system, there was a clear inside edge and this is a horror review mistake from Shaun Haig.”

Mitchell held his ground with New Zealand captain Kane Williamson pasting an incredulous smile on his face as the teams stood in the middle of the ground.

The commentators then turned on the players, arguing Mitchell should cop the call.

“We have not heard the last of this because the umpires have got together,” commentator Ian Smith said.

“This should not happen, there shouldn’t be player pressure on this and I can understand Williamson’s point of view but the umpires now, having used technology are being pressured and that’s not what it’s about.”

Even umpire Chris Brown didn’t look like he wanted to give it out.

Even umpire Chris Brown didn’t look like he wanted to give it out.Source:FOX SPORTS

“It’s such a clear inside edge so I don’t know what is happening here,” Doull said.

“He can’t call him back, what does that make the umpiring look like if the fielding captain calls him back,” Smith said.

The other big issue is that New Zealand lost the review for the failed attempt.

Fans were stunned by the call.

Williamson fell soon after with New Zealand 4/50 before Colin de Grandhomme (50 off 28 balls) and Ross Taylor came to the rescue.

Taylor was run out for 42 off 36 balls as New Zealand got to 8/158 from their 20 overs.

It was nowhere near enough for New Zealand as India crusied to a win with seven balls remaining, just three wickets down.

New Zealand won the first T20 by 80 runs earlier in the week.

International cricket is live and on demand on Kayo Sports with Tests, ODIs, T20s. Stream anywhere — home, office, train — for just $25 per month for two devices at once. Click here for your free trial.

Related posts

D’Arcy Short’s green and gold vow

Thewame Sports

Rival pokes fun at ‘Mickey Mouse’ Cheika

Thewame Sports

Pint-sized judoka packs power

Thewame Sports

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More